I’m in my own way

I realized the other day, when making my goal list, that I’ve really been standing in my own way.

block

I find this frustrating although I know it’s all too common.  I even read a post on it over at Nicole’s site and it really resonated with me.   Since finishing HIM Puerto Rico I’ve been floundering – professionally, personally and athletically.  I have all these “goals” and “to dos” in my mind but have not made much progess towards any of them.  I’ve been the queen of excuses though.  Sure, some are legit (kind of) but most are just, well, excuses!  Here are some of the excuses / road blocks I’ve been using:

  • I’m so busy packing
  • I’ll do it after the move
  • I’ll get to it once the kids get settled in their new school
  • I have to wait till after my Michigan visit
  • I’ll register for that once we pay X bill off
  • I’ll do that once we get in to our OWN house
  • I’m tired / short of cash / old / busy
  • I don’t know anyone here
  • I have to work
  • I afraid my husband / kids / dog / cat / hermit crab won’t be on board with me

The last point is total BS since my husband has pretty much supported anything and everything I’ve ever wanted to do (Thanks Honey!)

Interestingly, I’ve been noticing SO many signs lately that indicate I need to move toward things  – could be coincidence (like when you decide to buy a certain car then you start to see it EVERYWHERE) but regardless, I’m using these little “signs” to  get it in gear.

SO today I registered for our half marathon in November.  And I’m registering for the Plant Based Certification through eCornell.  I’m really excited about this – if for not other reason then to increase my knowledge on the subject.  Three of us in the house are plant based and the other day Athena, unprompted, said she wanted to be plant based and cut down processed food.  I took that as another sign from the universe that I need to sign up.  September is the perfect time to start a class right?

I’ve also decided to re-frame my attitude around work.  I’ve been feeling burnt out but I realize that I am incredibly lucky to have a job where I’m now able to work from home and be there for my kids before and after school. My boss is great and my co-workers (currently remote but I use to work in person with them) are awesome.

reframe

It’s amazing how focusing on the positives of a situation versus the negatives can change your whole outlook!  I realize that is usually easier said than done but it is SO worth the effort.

Leave a comment